Musical Beds

The night begins quietly
we’re all snug in our beds
the house is in silence
peaceful dreams in our heads.

Then the music begins
with an ear ache, a fever
so I get up and soothe
my big little sleeper.

I sit by his side on the floor
and the music slowly fades
the house is quiet once more
and I pause my nocturnal crusade.

Not long before the tune returns
this time from our little man
a bad dream, a cuddle
and soon my side’s filled again.

Then thirst turns up the volume
our little girl needs a drink
and she sneaks under your covers
as quick as a blink.

I finally see my chance
as everyone’s peacefully snoring
I creep into the empty bed
and all’s quiet till morning.

Three out of five
in someone else’s bed
and no one is to blame
but I do look forward
to when you and I
lie together again.

© Maggie Elizabeth 2012

Leave a Reply

